top of page
  • Captured In Time

Connecticut Photographer of Individuals with Special Needs


 

So, how do you find the right photographer that fits your family's unique situation? First, let me say you're not alone! Every family is unique and faces their own set of challenges and it is important to find a photographer who can 'meet (you and) your child where they're at.'


I AM THE PHOTOGRAPHER WHO MEETS YOUR CHILD WHERE HE/SHE IS AT. I will get the treasured photos you have been dreaming about and with ease. I am not just a photographer, I am also an ABA therapist studying to pursue a BCBA. Prior to my current career, working with school age children, I was a social worker for a young adult transition program. I have over 10 years experience working with individuals with special needs or all age ranges and diagnoses.


I know you're anxious, but I promise you, I've got this! It's going to be okay and we're going to get some great shots! I don't try and get your child to do things "my way;" the whole session revolves around your child, their strengths and their specific needs.


So you're in. We're going to do this. What's next?

 
 

First, we have to prepare your child for the upcoming session. As we both know, things out of the daily routine present their own level of challenges and potentially cause your child anxiety. These simple steps should help alleviate the anxiety for all of you.

  • Tell him/her that we're doing photos. We live in an age of camera phones and are constantly taking photos. Reassuring them that it's just like when Mom or Dad takes their picture helps to keep normalcy of the action.

  • Talk about what our chosen location looks like. Tell him/her what they're going to see there if it's a new place they've never been. Ask me, I may have photos of other people at the same location that you can share.

  • Allow him/her to be part of the decision making process if they're able. Let him/her choose a piece of their outfit or a comforting object to bring along to the session.

  • Show them my photo. Talk to him/her about how I will hang out with you and take photos.

  • Reassure him/her that Mom and (or) Dad will be there with him/her the entire time and if you plan on joining him/her for some photos.

You know your child best. You've told them what to expect, now let me handle the rest!

 
 

We will chat extensively prior to your session where I will ask you questions to determine how best to work with your child. Each session is tailored exclusively to meet your child and family's specific needs from setting to poses. Location of sessions are your choice, so if that means that the comfort of your home would best for the comfort and safety of your child, then your home is where I will come. Sessions are not restricted to a time frame so as to ensure that your child is comfortable and at ease before we start to process. I also bring along a prize box filled with various items that your child can earn for working so hard during the session.


Are you ready to capture those precious memories you've been wanting to? Contact me now!








98 views0 comments
bottom of page